one of my many questions… answered.

6 Apr

I have a million and two questions everyday.

Today, after studying the striped cat that lives with me for about an hour (I am spent), I wondered how cats clean their heads.

When my room mate informed me that they lick their paw and then rub their heads with it, I wondered if they had control over the amount of the saliva they produce. Because I have petted (is that the past tense of pet?) the cat as he was cleaning his back, and it is dry… he produces no saliva. And if he is just rubbing his head with a dry paw… what is that doing?

 

It’s not cleaning it. And, I mean, the cat’s head doesn’t stink or anything. So, how does this whole thing work?

I have also been wondering if cats have a race. I know it is bad to racialize the cat, but I can’t help myself… I think about it, and I’m not going to deny it. I also contemplated if all of a sudden the girl cat that I live with was actually a boy. How would I have to adjust my identification of her?

 I won’t even get into all of the questions I have about dogs. I will say, I was excited to see this story and learn (finally!) why some dogs are smaller than others.  

One Response to “one of my many questions… answered.”

  1. merritt April 6, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    for more questions about dogs that you would ever want to think about, please see Donna Haraway’s The Companion Species Manifesto: Dogs, People, and Significant Otherness. i really like her dog theory even if i hate her other work.

Leave a Reply

