llllllooooooonnnnngggg day

30 Apr

My day started really early… as I did not get to sleep until 5.3o this morning. I slept for a few hours and then woke up to run some errands before locking myself in the computer lab at school to work on a project due this Wednesday. In route to my first destination, Michael’s, I sat in this for 45 minutes:

I couldn’t figure out what was going on. “It’s Sunday… shouldn’t all these people be at home,” I said to myself. “Maybe there’s some kind of fair going on today that I was unaware of? Maybe Ikea is having a sale?” I thought. 

When I finally looked to my left, I saw this:

I realized what the big deal was. Part of the I-580 (MY INTERSTATE!) collapsed earlier today. An oil tanker ran into a guard rail around 3 am and the heat from the explosion and insuing fire melted the bolts and rods of the overpass, causing it to collapse.

After weaving through traffic, news station crews and pedestrians with cell phone cameras, I finally arrived at my destination. I collected my items and decided to cut the errands short, and just get to the lab and begin working. On the way there, I noticed that the gauge on my dashboard indicating the heat of the engine was all the way on red.

 

I had never seen it there before. Within seconds, the “Check Engine” light came on.

 

I got off the freeway and pulled into a parking lot just in time for my car (MY BABY!) to die. I spent the next 3 hours in the parking lot waiting for a tow truck to come and haul my little car away. Thankfully, my roommates joined me for the last couple hours of my parking-lot stint. While we were all sitting in their car, a little dog came bookin’ by, like a bat outta hell.

It’s owner was a few jogs behind it, red leash in hand.

One of my roommates jumped out of the car and joined the owner in the chase. A few minutes later, the owner walked by our car, NO dog in hand. She continued to walk out of sight. Then comes my heroic roommate, around the corner, with the little dog in her arms.

(the dog looks alarmingly similar to the one pictured above)

We searched for the owner (all this happening while I’m on the phone trying to track down the tow truck that was supposed to service my car 2.5 hours ago) and she was no where to be found.

I finally gave up on waiting for the original tow truck, and drove my car the little ways home, before it over-heated again. Not knowing what else to do, we brought the dog home with us. The next few hours were spent doing the following:

  • getting another tow truck to come and get my car
  • posting an ad for a lost dog on craigslist
  • hanging flyers around the neighborhood in which we found the dog

Now, my car is in an alley in the city, all by its lonesome and a little brown dog is scratching at the laundry room door in my apartment.

My life tonight is different from my life this morning in the following ways:

  1. I got nothing done for my project.
  2. I have no car.
  3. I have a dog.

The End.

3 Responses to “llllllooooooonnnnngggg day”

  1. merritt April 30, 2007 at 8:01 pm #

    wow. i do appreciate all the visuals 🙂

  2. lizard April 30, 2007 at 11:34 pm #

    i wanna meet him! sorry about your car 😦

  3. nicotineandmint May 1, 2007 at 5:26 am #

    harry just bitch slapped the dog. and…is the moon somewhere crazy or what?

Leave a Reply

