feministing

15 May

I read feministing about five times a week. In fact, it was that blog that got me into the whole “blogosphere,” and the idea that I could possibly have something to say.

While I think that the girls over at feministing raise important issues, like court cases about women’s reproductive rights and rape crises and diversity/race issues and how high-heels are bad for posture, the more I read the bloggers over there, the more I’m, well, kind of disgusted.

You see, feminism is all fine and dandy… but, this new-age-making-feminism-hip stuff is kind of weird. I mean the logo for feministing is this:

And the bloggers over at feministing author books with covers like this:

I suppose I get the message. They’re trying to make women’s issues accessible and applicable to younger generations of women and girls. But, aren’t they just playing into the gentrification of women? I mean the cover of Full Frontal Feminism is a naked, skinny, white woman. Hm?

3 Responses to “feministing”

  1. lesbianist May 15, 2007 at 3:48 pm #

    THANK-YOU for being critical of them. i feel the same way. honestly, i would rather spend my time reading perez hilton because most of the time feministing makes me either bored to tears or violently pissed about what’s passing for feminist these days. that said, there are the few and far between points of education for me. blog about this probably to come later with link to you. good photo illustrations. this is why we need to go back to radical anti-sex feminism. its only radical politics that cannot be easily co-opted as hip. everything short of radical gets taken in and marketed by the mainstream and is rendered meaningless.

  2. timanna May 19, 2007 at 4:51 am #

    do you remember postfeminism? that’s what this sounds like to me, it’s like, “oooh, we can make feminism sexy.” yuck.

  3. Madeline September 7, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    I agree.

    In Full Frontal Feminism, Valenti mentions that one of the problems of the feminist movement in the past (and less so in the present) was their lack of diversity and even downright racist attitudes (especially in first wave feminism). She talks about how we need to diversify the feminist movement, and yet look at the cover of her book. It’s disappointing.

Leave a Reply

