JR.

19 Jun

I have always stood by the sentiment that community college is like high school with cigarettes.

 

I realize that this is sort of a yucky view of the situation, because it ignores issues of how inaccessible four-year institutions are and why college even means anything, but, sorry, it’s the truth. I felt this way when I attended a junior college for a year right out of high school, and I’ve felt the same every summer that I’ve taken an extra class so that I would graduate on time.

Today I started summer school, taking one class at the local j.c. Though I entered the situation thinking I definitely do not want to spend my summer evenings doing this shit, I decided to have an open mind – maybe even meet some new people. I stepped onto the curb, literally just putting foot on the campus, when I hear “Hellllllllo!” from a group of dudes occupying the corner. With my renewed attitude (meeting people) I returned their chant with a “Hello.” and raised them a smile (something I rarely do to strangers). “I wasn’t even talkin’ to YOU,” the dude said.

 

I glanced around and saw not a soul. There was just me, clip-clopping around, trying to find the classroom. The guy continued to say, “I’m just tryin’ to keep it real – I don’t usually go for ’em thaaaat big.” Awesome.

I will continue to stand by my theory, until someone proves me wrong. Which will never happen.

(PS: another tid-bit. The average age of my class this evening was 67. I mean, I like old people, but that wasn’t really  my idea of “meeting people.”)

5 Responses to “JR.”

  1. nicotineandmint June 20, 2007 at 1:15 pm #

    ah how i enjoy a wiff of moth balls in the evening……

  2. lesbianist June 20, 2007 at 4:41 pm #

    and i will stand by my theory that any co-ed college is like high school, it would be easier to have class discussions with apes than with xy’s. i wish they let all female primates into college, but than co-ed and at least you wouldnt have to deal with that kind of harassment. are you going to merritt?

  3. lesbianist June 20, 2007 at 4:42 pm #

    but than=better than.

    BETTER DEAD THAN CO-ED

  4. timanna June 22, 2007 at 7:23 am #

    urgh. I mean, why are people so ridiculous?

  5. molm June 27, 2007 at 3:52 pm #

    where are these little pissers…I’ll kick their asses!

Leave a Reply

