thoughts on thoughts

22 Jul

For some reason, I thought it a good idea to watch United 93, the (realistic) movie about United Airlines Flight 93 that crashed in Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001.

 

I had heard the movie, which was released to theaters in April of 2006, was good and by good, I mean tasteful. The director, Paul Greengrass, had asked for and received approval from all family members of the 40 passengers killed that day before he began making the movie. I suppose the film serves as a rememberance, and as a tribute.

What I really liked about the film was that it displayed the clear lack of communication in our country’s governmental bodies…  both intra- and outer-organizational. By that, I mean that there were so many mistakes with transfering the needed information to the people who make decisions. This occured within organizations, like within the FAA, and with organizations communicating with eachother: the Marine Corp with the White House, the FAA with the Marine Corp, ATC Centers with the FAA. Anyway, I’ve been thinking a lot about business and organizational analysis lately, so that struck me.

I don’t know why I ever do things to make myself think more, because it seems that’s all I’ve been doing lately – thinking way too much about everything. So, this just adds to it. My fellow movie-watchers and I all needed to decompress afterwards by sharing our 9/11 stories, talking about how scary the world is, and how easy everything seemed before September of 2001. I’m not sure if things were actually easier, or I was just able to hide from the frightening aspects of society. Probably the latter.

One Response to “thoughts on thoughts”

  1. nicotineandmint July 26, 2007 at 1:14 pm #

    it’s definitely scarier now. BushCo has created a hostile environment not only overseas, but within and against the US. whenever i hear a car back-fire on the 580- i think that it’s our time.

Leave a Reply

