I miss you, miss you.

31 Jul

Things I really miss:

1. Pet Nets:

Looked like this:

And when used properly, looked like this:

 

These were so amazing, and a large part of my childhood. It always hung above my bed, I always enjoyed re-arranging the stuffed animals. Lately, as I’ve gotten more into having my own apartment and decorating it – I’ve been thinking about a way to use a Pet Net, without it actually  being a Pet Net. Like – I don’t want to look 7 by having a bunch of furry things smiling down from the corner of my room. But – it’s a good idea… to store stuff in the upper corner of a room.

2. Loveline

 

In the late nineties – as a new teenager – I loved to sneak and watch Loveline. At that point, the radio show that started on Los Angeles airwaves in 1983, was running live on MTV. I could really care less about the hosts, Dr. Drew Pinsky and Adam Carolla, it was all about the “sexy” phone calls – guys with three-inch extremities and girls with mysterious rashes.

As a late teen, after Loveline went from MTV back to radio, my weeknight 10 pm – 12 am hours were spent painting away my teenage angst and listening to strangers broadcasting their relationship and bodily issues. My interest did not lay so much in the callers, but in the hosts (though Adam is a total asshole, he was quite hilarious). The interactions between Drew and Adam and their callers were so funny and entertaining! I was such a hard-core fan, I even bought Dr. Drew’s book, Cracked.

Now, Adam has left, to take Howard Stern’s place in a nation-wide morning broadcast. Dr. Drew still hosts Loveline, with Stryker, though I haven’t listened in a few years.

2 Responses to “I miss you, miss you.”

  1. emily p-s August 1, 2007 at 3:04 pm #

    i find it almost telepathic that you blogged about love line today… i was just a few hours ago remembering my own late nights sneaking a few minutes of loveline.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Podcasting « A Taylored Stitch, A Modern Bitch - May 16, 2009

    […] top-three podcasts is the newest to the mix, The Adam Carolla Podcast. I have stated  that I was a huge fan of LoveLineback in the day, so the Carolla podcast features the funnier of the LoveLine duo, Adam Carolla. The […]

Leave a Reply

