Presidential Forum on LGBTQ issues

16 Aug

In case you missed it, Logo and the Human Rights Campaign hosted a forum for the front-running Democratic candidates on August 12th. You can see the entire thing or more brief segments here.

I just watched the whole thing and found it extremely interesting. This issue is something that I feel very strongly about, have read a lot about, and have personal experience with – so the responses were important – and I was looking for something profound. I must say – while I was impressed with many of the candidates statements – I came away feeling like, really? That’s it? I know it takes time – moving items and concerns through politics and government is grueling. But I sort of agree with John Stewart’s analysis:

“…At the debate, the Democratic candidates were trying to reassure the gay community how much they support them, while reassuring the rest of the country that they don’t completely support them.”

Also – the Logo blog: Visible Vote ’08 has great posts with news summaries and updates on all things related to LGBTQ in the 2008 election.  

One Response to “Presidential Forum on LGBTQ issues”

  1. Idetrorce December 15, 2007 at 9:43 pm #

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

