hip to be cool.

4 Feb

A couple of nights ago, I went to Oakland’s Art Murmur. The first Friday of every month, a lot of the small galleries in downtown open up, allowing free admission to their spaces and some serve food and drinks. It was pretty happening and reminiscent of a block party. I can’t believe I’ve lived here for four years and had never attended.  

There was definitely an “environmental” theme throughout most of the venues. I wasn’t really surprised, given the current conversations with Global Warming and climate change… it’s definitely cool to see how that translates into art work. My favorite pieces were at Johansson Projects.

Dendrochronograph No. 1 (Self)

 Dendrochronograph No. 2 (Dad)

They are by Kyle Monhollen. He laser-etched timelines into sections of Eastern White Pine Trees. So cool!  

3 Responses to “hip to be cool.”

  1. Kyle Monhollen February 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm #

    Thanks for the response, glad you enjoyed the work – I am enjoying your blog. Who are you?

  2. 2goldrets February 20, 2008 at 2:00 am #

    I love this! What an original idea! I’m looking forward to checking it out in person the next time I’m in San Fran…hopefully you will be off from work and go with.

  3. Steven February 28, 2008 at 7:39 am #

    A very creative conversation among worlds – science and art, affect and intellect, place and identity, self and other. You provide clarity that invites interpretation. I wish I could visit the exhibit and savor it with you.

Leave a Reply

