new(ish) hobby

4 Feb

For my birthday (back in October), I bought myself a fish tank. I had one in high school, and decided to reignite the hobby. It’s a lot of work and kind of a pain sometimes – like, another thing to clean every couple weeks. But, overall, I’m totally enjoying it. My favorite part is naming the fish and decorating (and redecorating) the tank.

In high school, I had platies, which, are pretty basic. Now, I have cichlids, which are more fun. They  have personalities, they get bigger and are pretty aggressive (making it entertaining to feed them). It started with Goldie and Hahn. Goldie died :(. I got White Fang and Jailbird. They all look different, but here’s the basic idea:

So, now I have three, and I think I need a bigger tank… which means I’ll get more fish, and then need an even bigger tank. It’s kind of a viscious and addictive cycle.

Anyway, today my friend showed me this:

Which is beyond amazing. Here is the link for more views of this amazing wonder. (Via Boing Boing)

One Response to “new(ish) hobby”

  1. merrrrrrrrrr February 4, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    they better live long so i can meets them

Leave a Reply

