that time of year… yet again

22 May

I thought I would get “May” in the archives, by having one post this month. It actually does bother me that a few months are missing from the box on the right. I guess that’s just a symptom of my techno-anxiety.

Anyway, I found this really awesome artist a few weeks ago, Chris Jordan. I became interested in the idea of “retail art.” I don’t even think that “retail art” is a thing, because, whenever I search it, I que up results that are nothing of what I am looking for. The closest thing to this idea (I have in my head) of “retail art” is “consumption” art. Even though, in my mind, retail and consumption art are not the same thing, consumption art is still super interesting. I think consumption art is pretty straight-forward – art dealing with what consumers consume, and the subsequent waste produced by consuming. It’s extremely revealing, disgusting, beautiful.

Cell Phones, Atlanta 2005

Wall of Drums, Seattle 2003 (homage to Christo)

2.3 million folded prison uniforms, equal to the number of incarcerated Americans in 2005.

Zoom In:

Actual Size:

 

He has some really amazing work over at his Web site – pretty much all the pieces are interesting as heck!

One Response to “that time of year… yet again”

  1. emily June 2, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    interesting. i think the most intriguing art is that which is attractive and ascetically pleasing, then just a moment after inspection, it becomes much more meaningful and representative.

Leave a Reply

