let it burn.

28 Jul

I just finised David Sedaris’ newest book, entitled, When You Are Engulfed in Flames. It was thoughtful, disgusting, scary, wretched and then always hilarious. What’s better, is that my friend went to his recent book reading/signing in SF and had him sign a copy especially for me. This is what he said: “To Taylor- I’m so angry I missed you. David Sedaris.” Basically, I’m famous.

I couldn’t help but to notice that he has dedicated this book to Ronnie Ruedrich – who he mentions a few times in this collection of short stories. She is a friend of his, if this is the same Ronnie from the stories. I realized that I would love to be her, who ever she is. #1 – She is friends with David Sedaris. #2 – Her friend dedicated a book to her. She must be an amazing friend. I don’t really care to write a book, but I would consider myself “made” if one was dedicated to me. Keep that in mind – all my brilliant friends!!

One Response to “let it burn.”

  1. Violet September 16, 2008 at 10:24 pm #

    Hi–I just came across this reference to Ronnie Ruedrich. Ronnie is a very old friend of mine, and she has been “best friends” with David for many years, years before he was famous. Just wanted to mention that she is a wonderful, creative, hilarious and adorable person and that she even finally stopped smoking after David dedicated that book to her. Ronnie always said, “That boy is gonna be something someday, but I dunno what.”

    Just wanted to say hello.
    Violet

Leave a Reply

