Fin.

21 Sep

I’ve finished David Eggers’ book, Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius. Towards the latter half of the book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it. Then it got interesting again – and then he called us all motherfuckers and then it was over. So, at the end, I was kind of like, “really?” The whole thing made me think about people, family, relationships – so in that way it was good. I’m actually not too sure if I feel much different about it than I did on page 176. If I were to say anything else, I would be repeating myself. I’m glad I read it though. Some people (I don’t like) now make a little more sense to me.

Now I’m onto Richard Brautigan. I’m reading a collection of 3 of his books: Revenge of the Lawn, The Abortion and So the Wind Won’t Blow It All Away. So far, I’m loving it. This man is so very interesting. I want to know more about him. His stories are pretty light and funny – but it feels like he is trying to say something deeper. So it makes me think – which I really like.

Talking just about books can be boring.

Sidewalks in SF are perfect.  Sometimes, if I’m thinking about it, I try not to step on the cracks in the cement. In the suburbs, the slabs of sidewalks are about a step and a half, so you really have to try not to step on the seam. Here though, they are just a step apart – so if you step in the middle of the slab – you never have to worry about stepping on a crack which means you NEVER have to worry about breaking your mother’s back.

pic via www.shawnahandke.com
2 Responses to “Fin.”

  1. m September 27, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    MANBOOKS GUN POISON YR BRAIN

  2. emmerly October 5, 2008 at 4:24 pm #

    i love that you have calculated the steps/cracks of the city sidewalks. i love that picture too.

Leave a Reply

