Environmental Concerns

13 Apr

I think everyone is familiar with my thoughts on “urban composting,” a.k.a. collecting organic materials  and having them picked up once a week by a truck which takes them to composting site instead of a landfill. I’m all for it, composting, that is. Cutting down on harmful levels of greenhouse gasses is right up my alley. I also enjoy the idea of harvesting nutritious soil out of particles from your very own food waste.

My problem with composting arises only when it is done in small apartments, under the sink.

compost

This bothers me because of the smell. I walk into my apartment (keep in mind this place is TINY – only three bedrooms, narrow hallway, bathroom, and kitchen), and I am confronted by rotting vegetables, tea bags and banana peels. It is rank. When you open the cupboard a swarm of fruit flies catapult upward and stick to your teeth. It’s like being in the Outback in the middle of summer, but I’m just in my kitchen throwing away a Diet Coke can (into the recycling bin). I have tried a covered container, I have tried storing the compost just outside the front door. I’m out of ideas. It’s unlikely that I will be able to convince my room mates that saving the Earth smells bad and we shouldn’t do it. I need some serious suggestions on where to proceed from here.

That said, I’m totally into my Reusable Bottle which I got at the adorable Eco Boutique on 18th. I’ve discovered that drinking from metal is way more fun than sipping from plastic, and it’s better for the environment too!

green-bottle

2 Responses to “Environmental Concerns”

  1. missps April 15, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    mega stinky. Yuck! What if you all throw compost stuff in a container in the freezer? I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner. That’s what linz and i did with stuff the ants in our apartment really liked (like kitten gravy food packets).

  2. molm June 27, 2009 at 7:13 am #

    the freezer is a good idea…if you have enough room in the freezer. Good question though…have you gone on-line to learn about this?

Leave a Reply

