The wows of bus.

12 Jun

I have always loved public transportation. I remember the first time I was allowed to ride the bus by myself: I was ten and excited beyond belief about the town of possibilities that was suddenly open to my scared self. The invigorating sense of self-starting, resourcefulness and action has never left me.

I understand that public transportation is the wrongs of society enclosed into a tube moving at incredible speeds down the road, track, wire. I understand that the bus attracts children whose school district is too corrupt to supply yellow buses, adults who do not have cars for financial  constraints (a symptom of a racist, classist society), and elderly people who have simply been left behind. I do think, though, that this is changing. With the environment now on the minds of many, the prices of gasoline and the stress of driving, public transport seems to make sense to a lot more people. I think this is good.

I have always wanted to be a part of the public transporation club. Appropriation? I don’t know. I think a lot of it has to do with the link between city and bus/train/subway/trolley. Riding public transport is very much a feature of urban life – which I am fascinated by and love. I always try to look like I belong on the bus, like it’s not exciting to me anymore, it’s mundane. I’m sure I don’t hide the look of shear excited-stupidity as well as I think I do when I take Metro, for example.

I don’t know how I feel about these feelings I have for public transportation. I suppose my love of bus is an itch to remove myself from the middle-class life I led as a child. The one where the comfort of a mini-van was never really that comfortable. It also probably has something to do with being anonymous and without the responcibility of having to pay attention. I’m not sure.

What I do know is this: IKEA’s new campaign entitled Pimp My Bus Stop is pretty great:

4 Responses to “The wows of bus.”

  1. merrrrrr June 13, 2007 at 2:39 am #

    i had an equally middle class childhood and for the love of god i hate the bus. i hated when i had to take it to work everyday, i hated when i would be late and it wasnt my fault, i hate how expensive it actually is to ride everyday…i just dont like it. but i also hate driving a car, so its really more that i just hate transportation in general. i like to be driven. i guess i was meant for a life a life of luxury. or a butch girlfriend with a car.

  2. taylored June 13, 2007 at 3:30 am #

    the bus is really actually expensive. i mean, much less so than gas, but still incredibly steep in it’s fares. a driver would be nice… i must admit.

  3. nicotineandmint June 14, 2007 at 7:34 am #

    ive been a pub trans rider for many a year. decade and some. i used to be scared of the people picking their noses over moist romance novels and greasey dudes rubbing their bodies up the grip poles (ah NYC), and then i thought i was cool and independent riding it to work (portland, me), and now i see it as an uncomfortably warm germ machine sludging down the road. i fell into some guy yesterday cause the bus driver had her foot on the gas as i stepped in- and i had to grab the pole. the rest of the ride i felt like my hand would turn pussy green and fall off. but at least i can read and commute!

  4. merrrrrr June 15, 2007 at 5:20 pm #

    what exactly may i ask is pussy green

Leave a comment